IPPW 2019

Updates – 15 July 2019

  • Thank you for attending IPPW!
  • Please click here to give feedback on IPPW2019: https://forms.gle/FJFNNoLTtKfaS3xY7
  • The Google Form for supporting Decadal Survey White papers is here: https://forms.gle/r32iBawiKEyVrNMH7
  • Congratulations to the winners of student prizes:
    • Outstanding student oral presentation (1st place): Hisham Ali, Experimental Investigation of Magnetohydrodynamic Energy Generation in Conditions and Configurations Relevant to Planetary Entry
    • Outstanding student poster presentation (1st place): Jasper Thomas, Altitude Control Balloon Testbed for Planetary Atmospheres
    • Outstanding student poster presentation (2nd place): Lucy Kissick, Sample Return from a Relic Ocean World: the Calathus Mission to Occator Crater, Ceres
    • Outstanding student poster presentation (3rd place): Mario Santos, Multi-Fidelity Modeling for Efficient Aerothermal Prediction of HIAD Configurations with Surface Scalloping
  • The Short Course presentations are being published as they become available
  • Here is the link to the IPPW Archive. IPPW-2019 presentations will be uploaded in due course.
IPPW 2019, Oxford UK – group photo, Monday 8 July 2019

IPPW 2019

The 16th International Planetary Probe Workshop was held at Oxford University from 8-12 July 2019. As in previous years, the IPPW brought together scientists, engineers, technologists, mission designers, space agency representatives and students from around the world for a collaboration focused on exploring solar system destinations through in-situ missions. IPPW 2019 workshop continued the IPPW tradition of encouraging international co-operation in planetary probe missions, the development of new and emerging technologies, and scientific discoveries. The Workshop on 8-12 July was preceded on 6-7 July by a Short Course, on Ice Giants (Uranus & Neptune). Topics included an overview of current scientific understanding and open questions regarding the ice giants, mission proposals in development, science payloads for ice giant probes, and technologies for entry, descent systems.

Local Organising Committee Chairs:

Colin Wilson, Oxford University colin.wilson@physics.ox.ac.uk

Steve Lingard, Vorticity Ltd steve.lingard@vorticity-systems.com

IPPW International Organizing Committee Chairs:

Bernard Bienstock, JPL Bernard.Bienstock@jpl.nasa.gov

Ashley Korzun, NASA Langley Research Center ashley.m.korzun@nasa.gov

Robert Buchwald, Airbus Defence and Space robert.r.buchwald@airbus.com

Programme Organising Committee:

Soumyo Dutta soumyo.dutta@nasa.gov

Joern Helbert  Joern.Helbert@dlr.de

Todd White todd.r.white@nasa.gov

IPPW 2019 Poster

IPPW-2019-Poster

IPPW 2019